Having decided to turn my mind to other matters, I then came across the article in the Guardian by Madeleine Bunting in which she summarises the state of the debate between theists and atheists and makes particular reference to Richard Dawkins.

The article itself is lucid, but the comment thread (while including some interesting observations and responses) displays some of the intemperately-expressed categorical statements that make this debate more of a shouting match between people who don’t want to listen to those who start from a different set of assumptions. I am grateful that some of those commenting on this blog showed more genuine interest in the central issues and respected those who differed.

I link it here because it is a place where the debates we have had on recent posts here might be continued. I remain unsure whether the online medium is a useful one for the conducting of such debates.