In 1987 I slept through the hurricane that tore across the United Kingdom. On 9/11 I was at a retreat house with no access to radio or television. I was tuck in an M1/M25 traffic jam while Liverpool were coming back from 3-0 down to win the European Champions League final in Istanbul. I always seem to be somewhere else when something interesting happens.

While I was in Munich for the 2nd Ecumenical Kirchentag (of which more in a later post) 2 deer and a fox turned up in our back garden in central Croydon. My wife called the RSPCA who seemed unperturbed by the news that busy main roads and a railway line come close to our house, maintaining that the deer would simply go back by the same route to wherever it was they came from.

We have absolutely no idea where they might have come from, how they managed to get into our locked garden or what it was that attracted them. The German neighbours (a dozen of them doing internships here in London) thought they should fetch their gun! Other neighbours were amazed. All I have to go by is a blurred photo: